Statutes of AGSSEA

Association of Geotechnical Societies in Southeast Asia (AGSSEA)



1.1 The objectives of the Association shall be (i) the promotion of cooperation among geotechnical
societies in Southeast Asia for the advancement of knowledge in geotechnical engineering; and (ii)
the assistance to member societies who have limited number of members.

1.2 In pursuance of these objectives the Association shall:

(a) Arrange for periodic local meetings within the region for the discussion of geotechnical topics in
cooperation with the member societies;

(b) Arrange for geotechnical conferences, symposia, seminars and lectures to be held in the region,
jointly with one or more member societies;

(c) Publish a technical journal in English language which shall contain papers of interest to
geotechnical engineers; the journal may be published jointly with a member society.

1.3 The working language of AGSSEA shall be English.


2.1 Any professional society or institution in the Southeast Asian region engaged or otherwise actively
interested in geotechnical engineering or related fields shall be entitled to be a Member of the
Association upon payment of the membership fees.

2.2 Any individual person, if not a Member of the International Society for Soil Mechanics and
Geotechnical Engineering (ISSMGE), International Society for Rock Mechanics (ISRM), or
International Association of Engineering Geology (IAEG), can apply for membership of the
Southeast Asian Geotechnical Society (SEAGS) or the respective professional society or institution
of his/her country who is a member of the AGSSEA.

2.3 Membership Cessation shall only be effective three (3) months after written notice.


3.1 Council

3.1.1 The Association’s authority shall be vested in the Council, chaired by the Chairman of the

3.1.2 The Council shall comprise:

(a) The Chairman of the Association
(b) The Hon. Secretary-General of the Association
(c) The Hon. Treasurer-General of the Association
(d) The immediate Past-Chairman of the Association
(e) The President of each member society or his designate
(f) One additional representative from each member society
(g) Up to a maximum of three Co-opted Members shall be nominated by the Chairman and
subject to the approval of the Council. Co-opted Members shall have no voting rights.

3.1.3 The Council shall meet annually. The quorum for a meeting shall be not less than three-quarters
of the Council Members. A Council Member may be represented by another Council Member at a meeting provided that the Hon. Secretary-General is notified in writing prior to the meeting.

3.1.4 In addition to Council meetings, postal communications may be used to conduct Association business, and these shall have the same authority as Council meetings, provided that there is a quorum of not less than three-quarters of the Council Members for voting purposes.

3.2 Association Officers

3.2.1. The Chairman, Hon. Secretary-General, Hon. Treasurer-General and Council members shall be elected from members of the member societies. The Chairman of the Association shall serve for the period between two consecutive AGSSEA conferences. The Chairman shall be elected by a simple majority of the Council Members representing the Member Societies.

3.2.2. The Hon. Secretary-General and Hon. Treasurer shall be elected by a simple majority of the Council Members representing the Member Societies. They shall serve for the same period as the Chairman.

3.2.3 The Representatives of Member Societies shall be nominated by their respective societies and shall serve for the same period as the Chairman. However, the Member Society has the absolute right to change their Representatives particularly due to a change in their own officers provided that the Hon. Secretary-General is notified in writing prior to the event.

3.2.4 If for any reason, the officer cannot serve his tenure, he shall be replaced in the same manner prescribed in clause 3.2.3 above. The replacement officer shall serve for the remaining period of office.


The Association Secretariat shall be located at the IEM Training Centre Sdn Bhd (IEMTC) of the
Institution of Engineers, Malaysia based in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia or any other Member
Organization as may be decided by the Council of the AGSSEA in future.


The Council shall decide on the membership fees. The membership fee is to cover the overheads of
the Secretariat. The membership fees shall become due in January of each year.


6.1 Changes to the Statutes shall be made only with the approval of at least three-quarters of the
Council Members voting at a meeting convened by the Council or by postal ballot.


First Revision dated 9 May 2010